Dexter Cattle Society NZ Inc. is an organisation run by volunteers who have an interest in developing the breed and ensuring that the development of the breed is managed professionally with clear standards and regulations. The Society is governed by a Council, which is ably supported by people across New Zealand who organise and run local events and activities.

The following tables detail the contact information for the Council, Officers and Area Representatives. Please do not hesitate to contact the appropriate person with any queries and we will work to respond in a timely manner.

Email addresses shown in the tables below are 'camouflaged' to prevent them from being harvested by Spam-bots.  Before using them, simply replace [at] with @.


Council Members

Contact Address Phone / Email Available?

President /
Showing & Judging

Betsy Smith

102 Woodside Road
RD 4
Hamilton 3284

P: 07 829 5674
E: president [at]
E: showing [at]


Robyn Snelgar

92A Takanini - Clevedon Rd
RD 2
Papakura 2582

P: 09 298 1789
E: secretary [at]



Jo Robb

660 Quine Rd
RD 3
Morrinsville 3373

P: 027 2795438
E: membership [at]


Treasurer &

Grant Keymer

Taipuha Settlement Road
RD 1
Paparoa 0571
P: 09 950 3075
E: treasurer [at]
E: webmaster [at]


Officers Outside Council

Contact Address Phone / Email Available?
Herd Registrar

Tony Houlbrooke

Herd Registrar's Assistant

Mary Howard

303 McCoy Road
RD 2
Opotiki 3198
P: 07 312 6162
E: herdreg [at]
Dispatch Editor

Maureen Pettersson
137 Colletts Road
RD 1
Mangaroa Valley
Upper Hutt 5371
P: 04 526 3785
E: dispatch [at]

Tony Cutten
179 The Coastal Highway
RD 1
Richmond 7081
P: 03 544 3222
E: research [at]



The Society takes any complaints raised seriously.  These are managed systematically to ensure that the fairest result is obtained and that the rules of the Dexter Cattle Society NZ are maintained.  The Society has two complaints officers who will investigate and report the findings to Council.  Complaints must be signed and in writing, and should be sent to the Secretary in the first instance.

Complaints Officers

Region covered Contact Address Phone Email
South Island Grant Conway 264A Parkes Line Road, Maymorn, Upper Hutt 5018 04 526 5114 conway [at]
North Island Vacant      




Dexter Cattle Society NZ Inc. is a national organisation and the country is divided into a number of areas.  Each area has its own representative and runs local events, discussion groups and open days.  For more information about what is happening in your area please contact your local representative. 

Area Representatives

Area Code Contact Phone / Email
Northland / North of Warkworth NL Inger Keymer P: 09 950 3075
E: inger [at]
North Harbour / Auckland NH Dayle Flannagan P: 09 427 5262
E: dartfarm24 [at]
Counties Franklin (Bridge to Bombay) CF Darryl Dixon P: 021 334 413
E: darryl.dixon [at]
Waikato WK Betsy Smith P: 07 829 5674
E: betstan3453 [at]
Bay of Plenty BP Mary Howard
Shirley Spick
P: 07 312 6162
E: marydave.howard [at]
P: 07 533 3808
Hawkes Bay HB Maria Hamilton P: 06 879 5159
E: mariahamilton [at]
Taranaki TK Jamie & Sheril Fryer P: 027 4880646
Manawatu / Northern Wairarapa MW Trudy Robertson P: 027 634 7401
E: trudyrobertson1990 [at]
Wellington / South Wairarapa WW Maureen Pettersson P: 04 526 3785
E: maureenandwaynep [at]
Nelson & Marlborough NS Sue Jones P: 03 572 7020
E: suerob [at]
Canterbury / West Coast CT / WC Marion Mangnall P: 03 318 7237
E: jimari [at]
Otago / Southland OT / SL Marion Read P: 03 486 1741
E: marionread [at]